Tennis Tournament: Myanmar Open Tennis Tournament 2019 Kicked Off

3 April 2019
2019-04-03 16:15

Myanmar Open Tennis Tournament 2019 kicked off at Thein Phyu Tennis Court in Yangon on Wednesday. This is also one of the annual tournaments of Myanmar Tennis Federation. 

Myanmar Tennis Federation organizes National Championship, Open Tennis Tournament and other competitions annually so as to get more experiences of competition and to turn out new talented players among young generation and to promote tennis sport among the community.

President, Myanmar Tennis Federation, Than Lwin said “We organize two major tournaments such as National championship and Myanmar Open in a year.  This tournament is also aims to reveal the ranking of the top tennis players in the country. Outstanding players will be selected to camp for national selection, too. Now, our federation is also working on upgrading process of Tennis Court to catch up international standard according to the instruction of the Ministry of Health and Sports.”

There are 11categories from Under 12 Boy and Girl Single to Open Class and above 45 Man Double Class in this tournament. About 70 players from across the country will be competed in it.

Player, Thandar Aung said “I started to play tennis since 12 years old. And then I competed in tournament at my age 13 years old. So I have been battling the matches in every tournament for about 17 years. In this tournament, I will complete in Open Woman Single, Open Woman Double and Open Mix Double Classes. I will try my best in every match.”

Player, Aung Kyaw Naing said “I will compete in Open Man Single, Open Man Double and Open Mix Double Classes. I will try my best in every match. I also joined last year and was a Champion in Myanmar. I would like to urge to organize this kind of tournament often so that it can turn out talented youth tennis players.”

The first and second winner from each category will be awarded Tennis accessories and Trophy as a prize. Myanmar Open Tennis Tournament 2019 will bring to the end on the 9th April.

-- End --