Signing NCA: New Mon State Party And Lahu Democratic Union Signed NCA

13 February 2018

The government and New Mon State Party and Lahu Democratic Party on Tuesday signed a nationwide ceasefire agreement, which was witnessed by representatives from the European Union, the United Nations and diplomats.

In the presence of President U Htin Kyaw, the agreement was signed by the state counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Vice President U Myint Swe, Vice President U Henry Van  Thio, Speaker of Pyithu Hluttaw U Win Myint, Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mann Win Khine Than, Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing, deputy Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services vice Senior General Soe Win, chairman of peace commission Dr. Myo Win, vice chairman of National Reconciliation and Peace Center, union minister U Kyaw Tin, Chairman of New Mon State Party, Naing Htaw Mon and chairman of Lahu Democratic Party Kya Khun Sar.

Before the signing, the chairperson of the national reconciliation and peace center, state counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi delivered a speech.

Next, the commander in chief of defense services, senior general Min Aung Hlaing also delivered an address.

Later, Chairman of New Mon State Party, Naing Htaw Mon delivered a speech representing New Mon State Party and Lahu Democratic Party.

Afterwards, chairman of Peace Commission, Dr. Tin Myo Win and general-secretary of New Mon State Party, Naing Aung Min read out the excerpts from the agreement.

Next, the members of The Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC) and Peace Commission, Joint Monitoring Committee at Union Level (JMC-U), state ministers for Mon, Lahu and Shan ethnic affairs signed as the domestic witnesses of NCA.

Under secretary of United Nations, Special Envoy for Asian Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China, representative of Japan government, Deputy National Security Adviser of India, deputy minister for foreign affairs of the kingdom of Thailand, ambassador of European Union to Myanmar signed as the international witnesses of NCA.

Then, Chairman of peace commission Dr. Tin Myo Win and general secretary Naing Aung Min exchanged the signed agreements.

After the completion of NCA signing ceremony, the heads of state, leaders of NCA signatories and ethnic armed groups posed for the documentary photo.

Credit - Myanmar State Counsellor Office, Commander-In-Chief’s Office