Argentina, Paraguay & Uruguay get automatic places for 2030 World Cup

6 October 2023
2023-10-06 10:43

Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay will all be given automatic qualifying spots for the 2030 World Cup for hosting the three opening games of the tournament, FIFA confirmed on Thursday.  World football's governing body announced on Wednesday that Morocco, Portugal and Spain will jointly host the 2030 showpiece but the opening games will be played in Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay to celebrate the tournament's centenary. 

In its original announcement, FIFA only confirmed that Morocco, Portugal and Spain would automatically qualify, but on Thursday it confirmed that the three South American nations would also be spared qualifying. It means that in a tournament that will have already expanded from 32 teams to 48 teams for the 2026 finals, "three of the six places" attributed to the South American zone in 2030 will be taken, a FIFA spokesman said.

-- End --